01 / 09The science
The science Every figure on this page names its source

The science. Everything we can show, and where it comes from.

How the radar measures, how it was validated, what is cleared, what is published, and what we still do not have. Peer-reviewed work, regulator records and independent certification are labelled as such. So is our own analysis.

2019First peer-reviewed validationBreathing rate against a physician's count, Scientific Reports
2021FDA 510(k) clearanceK202464 · heart rate and breathing rate in adults
2024Independent outcome certificationValidation Institute · 201 admissions
37Journal publicationsand 36 patents, by our co-founder's laboratory and collaborators
How it measures From the XK300 datasheet, v6.6

Pulses, echoes, and a moving chest.

The sensor is an impulse-radio ultra-wideband radar. It sends very short pulses between 6.5 and 8.5 gigahertz, centred near 7.3, and listens for what comes back. A chest rising with each breath and moving with each heartbeat changes the echo in a way the sensor can read.

Wavelength, about 4 cm

A centimetre-wave radar, not millimetre-wave. Longer waves pass through bedding, clothing, wood and thin glass, and are far less disturbed by a fold in a duvet or a change of sleeping position. They do not pass through concrete or metal.

Computed on the sensor

Heart rate, breathing rate, the breathing waveform, movement and presence are all worked out on the sensor's own processor. No internet connection is needed to take a measurement. Nothing is recorded that could identify a face or a voice: there is no camera and no microphone.

Only at rest

Heart rate and breathing are read while the person is still, and a reading takes at least 30 seconds of stillness. Every reading carries a confidence value from 0 to 100; readings below 80 are discarded rather than shown.

Reach

Heart rate to 3 m. Breathing to 7 m. Movement to 9.7 m. Field of view about 130 degrees. Range resolution about 1 cm.

Transmit power

Less than −41.3 dBm per MHz, the indoor ultra-wideband limit (FCC 47 CFR Part 15, EN 302 065, RSS-220). Total radiated power is on the order of 0.1 milliwatt, hundreds of times lower than a typical home Wi-Fi router.

What the sensor outputs

Presence (occupied or vacant), resting heart rate, resting breathing rate, the breathing waveform, and a movement measure. The same output on every product built on this radar.

Housekeeping

Power draw about 800 mW from USB. Operates from −40 to +85 °C. Two sensors in one room do not interfere if they are more than about 30 cm apart. Onboard processor: Cortex-M7.

Power draw is what the sensor consumes from the plug. Transmit power is what it radiates into the room. They are different numbers, and the second is the one that matters for exposure.

How accurate it is Peer-reviewed · with the caveats the papers themselves state

Measured against a reference, not against a feeling.

Accuracy means agreement with a clinical reference. The studies below compared this radar with a physician counting breaths, with electrocardiography for the pulse, and with full-night polysomnography. The figure they report is an intraclass correlation coefficient, where 1.0 is perfect agreement and anything above about 0.75 is usually called excellent.

Breathing rate
Agreement with a physician's count: 0.852. Thirty-three patients, nineteen in normal rhythm and fourteen in atrial fibrillation. The same study read the pulse from the carotid artery in the same radar signal and found agreement of 0.985 with ECG for pulse rate and 0.999 for the average beat interval. Scientific Reports, 2019.
Sleep apnea
Agreement with the apnea-hypopnea index from polysomnography: 0.927; severity class matched in 85% of people. Ninety-four adults, full-night in-lab polysomnography. This is published research, not a cleared indication, and no Kardian product screens for or diagnoses sleep apnea. The published correction discloses that the radar hardware came from Xandar Kardian, a company co-founded by the senior author. Scientific Reports, 2020; correction 2024.
Bench check
Within ±1.8 beats per minute of a reference patient monitor. This is our own bench specification, verified each year under the audit of our ISO 13485 quality system. It is audited, but it is not published in a journal, and we label it that way.
Redrawn from the papers' numbers
0.000.250.500.751.000.75 · "excellent" from hereBreathing rate vs physician count33 patients · 20190.852Apnea events vs polysomnography94 adults · 2020 · research only0.927Intraclass correlation coefficient with 95% confidence interval. 1.00 = perfect agreement.
Agreement with the clinical referenceOne chart for the peer-reviewed comparisons that report a confidence interval. Bars are the intraclass correlation coefficient; whiskers are the 95% confidence intervals the papers report. Values above 0.75 are conventionally called excellent agreement.Verify: Sci Rep 2019 Fig. 5 · Sci Rep 2020 Fig. 5
The original figures
Breathing rate: agreement with a physician's count
Breathing rate: agreement with a physician's countThirty-three patients. Left, radar against manual count, ICC 0.852. Right, the Bland-Altman plot: the radar read 1.1 breaths a minute lower than the physician on average, and 95% of readings fell within about 4 breaths a minute below to 2 above.Park et al., Scientific Reports 2019, Fig. 5 · Figure reproduced under CC BY 4.0
Breathing and pulse in one radar signal
Breathing and pulse in one radar signalThe raw radar waveform carries the large, slow breathing cycle and, riding on it, the small peaks of the carotid pulse (A). After filtering, the pulse peaks line up with the ECG in normal rhythm (B) and in atrial fibrillation (C).Park et al., Scientific Reports 2019, Fig. 4 · Figure reproduced under CC BY 4.0
What an apnea looks like to the radar
What an apnea looks like to the radarNasal airflow and abdominal movement from polysomnography (top two rows) beside the radar waveform (bottom row) during central, obstructive and mixed apneas and a hypopnea. Research only; not a cleared use.Kang et al., Scientific Reports 2020, Fig. 4 · Figure reproduced under CC BY 4.0
Sleep apnea: agreement with polysomnography
Sleep apnea: agreement with polysomnographyNinety-four adults. Left, the radar's abnormal-breathing count per hour against the apnea-hypopnea index from polysomnography, ICC 0.927. Right, the Bland-Altman plot. Research only; not a cleared use.Kang et al., Scientific Reports 2020, Fig. 5 · Figure reproduced under CC BY 4.0

Figures are reproduced from open-access articles published under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 licence. Click a figure to open it at full size, or the citation to open the paper.

What these studies do not show

Each was a supervised session or a single night in a laboratory. None reports accuracy over months of unsupervised home use. Nobody's does, in this category, and we will not pretend otherwise.

Why the trend matters more than one reading

Kardian products compare each night with your own recent nights. A one-beat difference on a single reading matters far less than a drift over several days, which is what care teams act on.

Which product the studies speak to

These studies were run on the impulse-radio UWB radar developed by our co-founder's laboratory, the technology behind the cleared XK300 and XK300 Essence. Kardian Somily is a separate wellness product built on the same underlying technology; it is not the cleared device and makes no claim to be equivalent to it. But they date from 2019 and 2020 and used research set-ups, with the sensor close to the person. The signal processing has been revised many times since. The current product is what the annual bench check against a reference monitor measures.

Rings and radar Different measurements · keep your ring

Already wear a ring? Keep it. This is a different measurement.

Most people who ask us about sleep already wear a smart ring, and we are compared with rings more than with anything else. So here is the honest comparison: what a ring does that we do not, what we do that a ring cannot, and why the two sit well together. We compare only where the same thing is being measured against the same kind of reference.

The thirty-second version

Why put a sensor on the wall when a ring is already on your finger?

Breathing, from the chest

A ring estimates breathing from the pulse in a finger. The wall sensor reads the chest rising and keeps the waveform, so it can see the rhythm of your breathing, breath to breath, not just a number.

Heartbeat Clarity

How cleanly the heartbeat pattern can be read from the chest. A trend no finger sensor produces. Investigational: shown as a wellness trend while research continues.

Head to toe, not a fingertip

Body movement across the whole bed through the night: restless spells, turning, stillness. A ring knows what one hand did.

In bed, out of bed, back in bed

Bed presence is read directly. When you got up at 02:45 and for how long. When you woke, and when you actually got out of bed, which are not the same time.

Your usual, night after night

Every night sits beside your own recent nights. In care settings that comparison has shown a change an average of 4 to 6 days before a diagnosis was recorded.

Nothing worn, nothing charged

Plugged in once, on the wall, reading through the duvet. It is there on the nights you forgot the ring on the charger.

What the ring keeps doing better: daytime activity, heart-rate variability, skin temperature, sleep stages. Keep it on.

22:0023:0000:0001:0002:0003:0004:0005:0006:0007:00In bedpresence, direct02:45 · out of bed, 6 min22:27 to bedSettledstillness, head to toe06:18 awake06:57 out of bedBreathingrate and rhythm, from the chest14 to 15 breaths a minute, a small rise around 03:00Resting heart rateat rest, from the chest54 to 61 beats a minuteIllustration of the kinds of things the wall sensor records in one night. Not a real recording.
One night, as the wall sensor reads itPresence in the bed, a night-time bed exit, settled and restless spells from whole-body movement, the moment you woke against the moment you got up, and breathing and resting heart rate through the night. A schematic, drawn to show the kinds of things recorded, not a real night.
Asleep with a smart ring on the finger
With a ringLight through the skin of the finger. Reads heart rate, HRV, temperature, movement, all day and night.
Asleep with nothing worn and the Kardian sensor on the wall
With Kardian on the wallNothing worn. Radar reads breathing and resting heart rate from the chest, through the duvet, from about 1.5 m.
Asleep with a ring on and the Kardian sensor on the wall
BothThey do not interfere with each other. The ring keeps doing what it does; the radar adds the measurements it does not make.

RRV: the rhythm between breaths

Two nights can average the same breaths per minute and feel nothing alike. The sensor keeps the spacing between breaths, not just the count.

Heartbeat Clarity: how cleanly the heartbeat reads

Not how fast, how clearly. In Somily it is tracked against your own nights as a wellness trend.

A smart ringKardian, on the wallRead this with
What it touchesYour finger, all day and all night.Nothing. It reads through bedding from about 1.5 m away.
How it sensesLight shone into the skin (photoplethysmography) reads blood-volume pulses; an accelerometer reads movement; a thermistor reads skin temperature.Radio pulses at about 7.3 GHz reflect off the chest; the sensor reads the rise of each breath and the motion of each heartbeat.Two different physical signals. Neither is an ECG.
Heart rateYes, day and night. The best-studied rings publish night-time heart-rate agreement with ECG that is very high.Resting heart rate, at rest, from the chest motion. Carotid pulse rate agreed with ECG at 0.985 in the 2019 study; the current product is bench-checked to within 1.8 beats per minute.Both good at rest. A ring also reads you walking; we do not.
Heart-rate variabilityYes. This is a ring strength.No. We do not measure or report HRV.If you use HRV, keep the ring.
Breathing rateEstimated from the pulse signal. We could not find a published validation of ring breathing rate against a clinical reference.Measured from the chest itself, with the breathing waveform kept. Agreement with a physician's count 0.852 in the 2019 study.Breathing rate is the vital sign that moves first when something is wrong, and the one we were built for.
Breathing rhythmNot reported.The breathing waveform is kept, so the regularity of the rhythm from breath to breath can be followed as a wellness trend.Wellness trend, not a diagnosis.
Heartbeat ClarityNot reported.A measure of how cleanly the heartbeat pattern can be read from the chest. Investigational; shown in Somily as a wellness trend.Research is ongoing; it is not a claim.
Sleep stagesYes: light, deep, REM. Published validations of the best-studied rings put four-stage agreement with the sleep lab in the mid-seventies per cent.No. We do not stage sleep. We show time in bed, how settled the night was, and resting heart rate and breathing through it.Staging agreement and a correlation coefficient are different quantities; do not rank them against each other.
Sleep apneaSome wrist devices hold a screening clearance; rings generally do not.Published research agreement with polysomnography (0.927, 94 adults). Not cleared; no Kardian product screens for apnea.Neither is a diagnosis.
Body temperatureYes, skin temperature trend.No.
Daytime activityYes: steps, workouts, readiness.No. It reads the bedroom, and only while you are still.
Change from your own baselineReadiness-style summaries, as wellness.Each night beside your own recent nights. In care settings this has shown a change an average of 4 to 6 days before a diagnosis was recorded (retrospective).The care-setting record exists only on the radar side, because that is where the clinical device has been deployed since 2021.
Bed presence, bed exitsInferred from wear and stillness.Direct: occupied or vacant, when you left the bed at night and for how long, and the gap between waking and getting up.Useful for a caregiver as much as for you.
Body movementOne hand.Head to toe: how restless the whole body was, and when.
Sharing with a care teamConsumer app; some offer family sharing.XKare shares with a caregiver; the XK300 Essence feeds a care team through remote monitoring.
Regulatory statusGenerally wellness products. A few individual features on some wearables hold clearances in some markets.XK300 and XK300 Essence: FDA-cleared for heart rate and breathing rate in adults, prescription. Kardian Somily: a wellness product.Clearance is per measurement, not per device.
UpkeepCharge it every few days. Take it off for some activities. Sizing matters.Plug it in once. Nothing to wear, charge or remember.

Where a ring wins

Anything that happens away from the bed: steps, workouts, daytime heart rate, HRV, skin temperature, and sleep staging. If those are what you use, nothing here replaces them.

Where the radar wins

Breathing rate measured from the chest with its waveform, resting heart rate with nothing worn, bed presence and movement, a nightly baseline that a care team can act on, and a clinical device with a certified outcome record behind it.

Together

Keep the ring on. The radar adds the measurements a ring does not make, from a sensor you never have to charge or wear. Read both in the morning: the ring for how you slept and recovered, the radar for whether your breathing and resting heart rate look like your usual self.

How to read accuracy claims, ours included
  • Compare the same endpoint. Four-stage sleep agreement, apnea sensitivity and a correlation coefficient for heart rate are three different quantities. A number from one column cannot be ranked against a number from another.
  • Compare the same reference. In-lab polysomnography, a home sleep test and a physician's count are not equal references. Our breathing-rate figure was against a physician's count, and we say so.
  • Absence is not evidence. Where we could not find a published validation for rings, we say "could not find", not "does not exist".
  • Every validation is short. Ring and radar studies alike run for a night or a session under supervision, mostly in younger adults. Nobody has published months of unsupervised home accuracy, us included.

Ring statements reflect the published validation work of leading ring makers and the peer-reviewed studies they cite. Radar statements are sourced on this page.

Clearances and standards Regulator records

What the regulators have on file.

United States · FDA

510(k) K202464, Vital Sign Monitoring Sensor XK300, cleared 26 April 2021. Class II. Product code DRT, cardiac monitor, 21 CFR 870.2300. Indications: measurement of heart rate and breathing rate in adults. Prescription use. Later radar vital-sign devices from other companies cite this clearance as their predicate.

Other markets

Cleared in Canada, Australia, Singapore, Thailand and South Africa. The XK300 Essence shares the XK300's radar hardware and clearances; only the enclosure differs. Kardian Somily is sold as a wellness product and is not a medical device in any market.

Quality and radio

Manufactured under an ISO 13485 quality management system, audited annually through the Medical Device Single Audit Program. Radio emissions within the indoor ultra-wideband rules of the FCC (Part 15), the EU (EN 302 065) and Canada (RSS-220). Radio certifications held: FCC (United States), ISED (Canada), CE / RED (European Union), MIC (Japan), KC (South Korea) and ACMA (Australia).

World Health Organization, 2024

Listed in the WHO Compendium of Innovative Health Technologies for Low-Resource Settings, 2024, at technology readiness level 9. WHO's evidence assessment: "Recommended". Its clinical assessment: "Recommended with caution", noting that in an infectious-disease outbreak repeated patient contact for vital signs and the disinfection of shared equipment are problematic, so contactless monitoring can be advantageous, while blood pressure and temperature would need separate assessment and the device monitors one patient at a time. The entry also records that the manufacturer's submission lacked stated accuracy ranges, which is one reason this page exists.

Outcomes and field evidence Independent · peer-reviewed · company analysis, each labelled

What happened when it was used.

Independent
75.6% of hospital transfers were preceded by an alert, across 201 admissions. Certified by the Validation Institute on 15 July 2024. Xandar Kardian did not author the analysis, fund it, or control the result. The data came from skilled-nursing facilities using the clinical XK300. The certification (PDF).
Peer-reviewed
A protocol for early detection of COVID-19 in a skilled nursing facility. A retrospective case series of twelve residents in one unit of a 94-bed facility, describing how a shift in resting heart and breathing rates was noticed before symptoms during an outbreak in October 2022. Authors include Xandar Kardian staff, disclosed in the paper. Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine, 2024. Read the paper.
Company analysis
Early notice in the care-setting record. Looking back at records from nursing homes using the clinical XK300: urinary tract infection, 108 confirmed events, a change seen on average 4.3 days before the diagnosis was recorded; COVID-19, 189 events, 3.9 days; end of life, 335 cases in the model set (390 journeys in the white paper), 6.3 days. These are our own retrospective analyses. They describe what the record showed; they are not cleared indications and not a promise about any individual. XK does not predict or diagnose health events. The full table and the method are below. UTI study (PDF) · End-of-life white paper (PDF).
Scale
More than 49,000 people monitored in care settings since 2021, at more than 6,000 readings per person per day. Our own count from deployed sensors. The WHO Compendium entry independently records more than 7,800 units distributed at the time of its assessment.
How to read the 75.6%
  • Alerts also fired for 47.6% of residents who were not transferred. That is by design. The alert reports a change from the person's own baseline, and a change has many causes, including a common cold. Nobody sends a resident to hospital for that; a nurse looks in.
  • The 75.6% counts every transfer, including falls and injuries that no vital sign could have foreshadowed. We read it as a floor for the changes the sensor could have seen.
  • The Institute's number stands as certified. The two readings above are ours, and we label them that way.
Risk detection, the full table Company analysis · retrospective · not cleared

Our data science team published its method in February 2026. Six outcomes, each with the number of cases, how often the model told cases from controls on data it had never seen, and how many days before the documented event the first alert came, on average.

Model accuracy, sensitivity = specificityEarly notice, average days before the record0%50%100%0 d3.5 d7 dHospital transfern = 51076.5%5.5 daysEnd of lifen = 33589.5%6.3 daysCOVID-19n = 18971.1%3.9 daysUrinary tract infectionn = 10874.5%4.3 daysCOPD exacerbationn = 3172.5%4.1 daysHeart failuren = 2873.2%5.3 days
Six outcomes: how well the model told cases apart, and how earlyLeft, accuracy on never-seen data at the point where sensitivity equals specificity. Right, the average number of days between the first alert and the documented event. Paler bars are the two small samples.Verify: XK risk-detection methodology, Feb 2026, page 1
Health outcomeCases seenModel accuracyEarly notice
Hospital transfer51076.5%5.5 days
End of life33589.5%6.3 days
COVID-1918971.1%3.9 days
Urinary tract infection10874.5%4.3 days
COPD exacerbation3172.5%4.1 days
Heart failure2873.2%5.3 days
How to read this table
  • Who counts as a case. Only people with at least five of the last seven days under the sensor, more than 1,000 readings a day, about three hours. Thin data is excluded rather than guessed at.
  • What accuracy means here. Measured on data the model had never seen, at the threshold where sensitivity equals specificity, so the figure does not depend on how common the outcome is. In use, the threshold is set to favour earlier alerts or fewer of them.
  • What early notice means. The average gap between the first alert and the date the event was documented. Records often lag the true onset, so the real gap is likely longer, not shorter.
  • Small rows. COPD and heart failure rest on 31 and 28 cases. Read them as early signals, not results.

The dataset

2,402 residents of 34 long-term care facilities in the United States, average age 78, monitored between 2022 and 2025: more than 22,300 days of data, 5.2 billion heart-rate and 9.6 billion breathing-rate readings, about 2,500 patient-years, and some 7,000 documented health outcomes.

How outcomes were defined

From the facilities' electronic health records: admission, discharge and transfer events for hospital transfers and deaths, and structured ICD-10 primary diagnoses entered by licensed staff for infections and conditions. All data were anonymised before modelling.

How the models were tested

Each outcome group was matched with an equal-sized control group from the same window. Models were trained on 80% of people and tested on the other 20%, repeated over random splits, with no person in both sets. Only sensor-derived features were used: no age, sex, diagnosis or medication inputs.

What limits it

Retrospective, and drawn from one care setting in one country. Record timestamps can lag the true onset. Some controls may have had undocumented events, which makes the estimates conservative. The models are meant to flag patterns for a human to review, not to diagnose or to act on their own.

The documents
Heart rate, three weeks in one room
Heart rate, three weeks in one roomFive-minute averages of resting heart rate from the sensor, 16 September to 7 October 2022, as printed in the paper. The rise in early October preceded the resident's positive test.Mayhue et al., Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine 2024, Fig. 2 · authors include Xandar Kardian staff
Breathing rate, the same three weeks
Breathing rate, the same three weeksFive-minute averages of resting breathing rate over the same period. The two trends were read together.Mayhue et al., Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine 2024, Fig. 1
Research under way Investigational · not cleared · not a claim

What we are studying, and how we will report it.

Heartbeat Clarity

A measure of how cleanly the heartbeat pattern can be read from the radar signal. In our care-setting record, readings of 0.1 or lower have shown a strong association with the heartbeat patterns seen in heart failure. This is ongoing discovery. It is not a diagnosis, not a cleared claim, and it is shown in Somily only as a wellness trend.

Heart failure Research, ongoing

Two threads. First, the care-setting record: in our February 2026 analysis, 28 documented heart-failure events, with the model telling cases from controls 73.2% of the time and a first alert on average 5.3 days before the record. Twenty-eight is a small number, and we say so. Second, Heartbeat Clarity readings of 0.1 or lower show a strong association with the heartbeat patterns seen in heart failure. A research programme with cardiology hospitals is in preparation, with ethics review before any patient is enrolled. Until it is published, everything about heart failure on this site is research, not a capability. In every one of the 28 events, Heartbeat Clarity had fallen to 0.1 or lower before the event was documented. A global clinical trial is under way. Shown as research, not as a claim.

Sleep apnea

The radar's agreement with polysomnography has been published, as described above. No Kardian product is cleared to screen for or diagnose sleep apnea, and none of them does.

Our rule for reporting

We publish what we find, including when it is not what we hoped. Study designs are agreed with the hospitals before the data is collected. Company staff who co-author are disclosed. And a result stays labelled "research" until a regulator has reviewed it.

Publications and patents By our co-founder's laboratory and collaborators

The reading list, for the truly curious.

The radar inside Kardian products grew out of the laboratory of our co-founder, Professor Sung Ho Cho. His group and its collaborators have published on impulse-radio UWB radar for more than a decade. The papers most relevant to what our products measure are listed first, with links where the article is open.

Vital signs
  • Preclinical Evaluation of a Noncontact Simultaneous Monitoring Method for Respiration and Carotid Pulsation Using Impulse-Radio Ultra-Wideband RadarScientific Reports, 2019; 9:11892 · breathing rate vs physician count, ICC 0.852Read
  • Preclinical Evaluation of Noncontact Vital Signs Monitoring Using Real-Time IR-UWB Radar and Factors Affecting Its AccuracyScientific Reports, 2021
  • Experimental Comparison of IR-UWB Radar and FMCW Radar for Vital SignsSensors, 2021
  • An Overview of Signal Processing Techniques for Remote Health Monitoring Using Impulse Radio UWB TransceiverSensors, 2020
  • A Detailed Algorithm for Vital Sign Monitoring of a Stationary/Non-Stationary Human through IR-UWB RadarSensors, 2017
  • Machine Learning for Healthcare Radars: Recent Progresses in Human Vital Sign Measurement and Activity RecognitionIEEE Communications Surveys and Tutorials, 2024 · review
Sleep and breathing
  • Non-contact Diagnosis of Obstructive Sleep Apnea Using Impulse-Radio Ultra-Wideband RadarScientific Reports, 2020; 10:5261 · agreement with AHI, ICC 0.927, n = 94Read
  • Author Correction to the above, disclosing the hardware source and the co-founder affiliationScientific Reports, 2024; 14:26947Read
  • Validation of Noncontact Cardiorespiratory Monitoring Using Impulse-Radio Ultra-Wideband Radar against Nocturnal PolysomnographySleep and Breathing, 2019
Heart-rate variability and stress
  • Noncontact Assessment for Fatigue Based on Heart Rate Variability Using IR-UWB RadarScientific Reports, 2022Read
  • Feasibility of Early Assessment for Psychological Distress: HRV-Based Evaluation Using IR-UWB RadarSensors, 2024
In care settings
  • A Novel Protocol for the Early Detection of COVID-19 at a Skilled Nursing FacilityGerontology and Geriatric Medicine, 2024 · authors include Xandar Kardian staffRead
  • Quantified Activity Measurement for Medical Use in Movement Disorders through IR-UWB Radar SensorSensors, 2019
  • Quantified Assessment of Hyperactivity in ADHD Youth Using IR-UWB RadarScientific Reports, 2021
Newborns and infants
  • Feasibility of Non-Contact Cardiorespiratory Monitoring Using Impulse-Radio Ultra-Wideband Radar in the Neonatal Intensive Care UnitPLOS ONE, 2020
  • Non-contact Respiration Monitoring Using Impulse Radio Ultrawideband Radar in NeonatesRoyal Society Open Science, 2019
  • Non-contact Sleep/Wake Monitoring Using Impulse-Radio Ultrawideband Radar in NeonatesFrontiers in Pediatrics, 2021
  • Early Screening Tool for Developmental Delay in Infancy: Quantified Assessment of Movement Asymmetry Using IR-UWB RadarFrontiers in Pediatrics, 2022
Radar engineering
  • A New Thresholding Method for IR-UWB Radar Based Detection ApplicationsSensors, 2020
  • Multi-Human Detection Algorithm Based on an Impulse Radio Ultra-Wideband Radar SystemIEEE Access, 2017
  • People Counting Based on an IR-UWB Radar SensorIEEE Sensors Journal, 2017
  • A Public Dataset of Dogs Vital Signs Recorded with Ultra Wideband Radar and Reference SensorsScientific Data, 2024 · open dataset

Patents

Thirty-six patents, nine of them granted in the United States and the rest in Korea, cover measuring vital signs, arrhythmia and sleep efficiency with radar, sleep-apnea detection, signal-quality checking, and the detection and counting of people. Among them: US 11,529,064 (measuring biometric signals by radar), US 11,426,120 (sleep efficiency by radar) and US 12,232,862 (sleep-apnea detection with IR-UWB radar).

A note on authorship

Most of this work was done at a university, with public research funding, and reviewed by journals we do not control. Where company staff or our co-founder are authors, the papers say so, and so do we.

Missing something?

If you are a researcher and want the full list, a datasheet, or to discuss a study, write to us through the contact form. Ask XK-AI below can answer most technical questions from this page.

What we do not have Said plainly

The gaps, in our own words.

No published sleep-staging accuracy

We do not publish how well the sensor tells light, deep and REM sleep apart, because we have not validated that against polysomnography. Sleep in our products is a wellness estimate from heart rate, breathing and movement.

Apnea: published, not cleared

The polysomnography study exists. A regulator has not reviewed it, and our products do not act on it.

Bench accuracy: audited, unpublished

Our ±1.8 beats-per-minute figure is checked under audit, but it has not been through a journal. We say "audited", not "proven".

One independent outcome study

The Validation Institute certification covers one operator's facilities and 201 admissions. It is the only third-party outcome check we hold. We would like more.

Short, supervised validations

The accuracy studies ran for a session or a night, under supervision, mostly in younger adults. Months of unsupervised use at home is a different setting, for every device in this category.

Retrospective early-notice figures

The 4.3, 3.9 and 6.3 day averages look backwards at records. A prospective study, designed in advance, would be stronger evidence, and that is what the research programme above is for.

Ask XK-AI

Need answers now? Installation. Reimbursements. Customer support. Anything, just ask.

Researchers, clinicians and care providers

Datasheets, protocols, evidence packs and programme details live on our clinical site.

kardianhealth.com